Exciting times and happy coincidences

These last months have been far too busy. No rest for the wicked it seems!

Several business trips abroad, some major projects in the office, people on vacation, … Of all my plans to take it easy and do some fun projects, next to nothing got done. And my wish to blog regularly got totally sidetracked.

pc power supplies

The final resting place of all pc power supplies (Photo credit: k0a1a.net)

Then my desktop PC at home expired, like in “suddenly stopped working”: no sound, no lights, no nothing. I diagnosed it as a dead power supply. Actually, it was more of a lucky guess as I have limited hardware knowledge.

Anyhow, time to buy a new desktop PC and a new power supply, so I can recycle my old desktop PC into a new Ubuntu-server. Lucky I did, because a few weeks after installing my new desktop PC, my old server died as well. Yeah, another dead power supply. It seems these power supplies are made to last for about 5 years of continuous use.

Of course transferring the old files to my new desktop PC took a while and then reinstalling my Ubuntu server took even longer. But now my email works again, the automated backups run nightly and my music-server pipes mp3 files all through the house at my command.

And in between I managed to save the world in “Deus Ex – Human Revolution“. I had to test the capabilities of my new  desktop, didn’t I?

What more “exiting” things happened?

Well, my Thai girlfriend will apply tomorrow for her visa to come and visit me in Belgium. I hope the visa procedure runs smoothly, it sure takes much paperwork to try to convince the powers-that-be.

And speaking of powers and coincidences, my old friend from university has just been appointed to become Belgium’s next Ambassador in Thailand. So if the visa procedure does not run as smoothly as expected, perhaps I can apply to His Excellency?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Perl 6 Advent Calendar

Something cool about Perl 6 every day

Living With Bipolar Disorder

My story of teetering on the edge of sanity!

wendyga

Just another WordPress.com site

Glance

The whole picture.

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Who?

Just me Nicole

Staked in the Heart

A Politically Incorrect Zone

The Reservator

Eat well, and travel often.

bangkokbarfine

Just another WordPress.com site

Running Naked With Scissors

slightly cracked observations and unsolicited advice on bending the rules and being yourself...and butterflies

Amor's Thoughts

"Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration" ~Thomas Edison

Vikram Roy's Blog

A Personal Collection of Blogs

Imperial Deltronics

Home of fine Perl-software and webdesign

